Naval History Sweeps Government History Book Prizes

At the Society For History in the Federal Government Awards Luncheon held at Archives II at College Park, MD on 21 March 2012, two monographs on naval history captured the prestigious George Pendleton Prize and Henry Adams Prize.

George C. Daughan earned the Pendleton Prize for 1812: The Navy’s War (Basic Books, 2011). Daughan holds a Ph.D. in American history and government from Harvard University and won the 2008 Samuel Eliot Morison Award for his previous book, If By Sea. He resides in Portland, Maine. A member of the Naval Historical Foundation, Daughan has volunteered to participate in the War of 1812 Speakers program.

This annual award is given for an outstanding major publication, on the federal government’s history produced by or for a federal history program. The Pendleton Prize commemorates Ohio Senator George H. Pendleton, sponsor of the 1883 civil service reform act that bears his name.

This is the second year running that naval history has earned this honor. Last year William P. Leeman, an Assistant Professor of History at West Point, received this recognition for The Long Road to Annapolis: The Founding of the Naval Academy and the Emerging American Republic (University of North Carolina Press, 2010).

John V. Quarstein earned the Henry Adams Prize for his book The Monitor Boys: The Crew of the Union’s First Ironclad (History Press, 2011). Quarstein, a historian who resides in Hampton, Virginia, earned the award an outstanding major publication on the federal government’s history. The Adams Prize commemorates the author of the classic multi–volume History of the United States during the Administrations of Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. Adams completed his scholarly work in Washington, where he maintained close contact with the successors of federal officials whose activities he analyzed in his History.

Spread the word. Share this post!

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *